Find out which dairy products are gluten free & how to identify them

What dairy products are gluten free?

In this article we’ll cover questions and answers about every day dairy products and their gluten free status.

This post will be especially helpful for those fairly new to a gluten free diet or those looking to understand dairy products and how to tell if they’re actually gluten free or not.

As a brief summary though, I can let you know that the following list provides an overview of dairy products which are gluten free…


But do read the specific sections further down for more information afterwards!

Dairy products which are generally gluten free include: cows milk, cheeses in their natural forms, butter, yogurt, sour cream, crème fraiche, powdered milks, plain chocolate, buttermilk, custard, plain ice cream, whey and kefir.

Although the products listed above generally won’t include gluten, they may have other ingredients added to them which do.


That’s where the rest of this article can help you…

Skip to the section you need:

Does milk have gluten?

Milk products that may contain gluten & should be checked before consuming

Does butter have gluten?

Which custards are gluten free?

Does yogurt have gluten?

Which ice creams are gluten free?

Does cheese have gluten?

Cheese products which may contain gluten and should be checked before consuming

Be sure to Follow Me on Instagram for lots of helpful content too!


@gemma.hartshorn



I’m excited to have you with me over there!
x

DISCLAIMERS & DISCLOSURES

This post may contain affiliate links, which means I may receive a commission, at no extra cost to you, if you make a purchase through a link.
Please see my full disclosure for further information
DISCLOSURE
& my full Disclaimer for further information – DISCLAIMER

Any advice offered within this article is meant for educational purposes only and should not be used as a sole resource for understanding the medical conditions discussed within. Any changes made to your diet, lifestyle and general well-being should be discussed with your GP or similar healthcare professional who is aware of your unique medical history and not made according to advice provided within this article or anywhere else on this website.


While the utmost care has been taken in devising the information residing on this website, it is your sole responsibility as the reader to utilise the information as you see fit and by reading the information present on this website you accept personal responsibility over any health outcomes related to you and your condition which occur as a direct or indirect result of using the information on this website in any way.

Always Check Ingredients Labels for Allergen Information
before consuming a product.

This is important in case there are changes in
manufacturing since the date of publication of this article.

It’s also a good idea in general, especially if you have allergies rather than intolerances/sensitivities to certain ingredients to check ingredients labels before consuming a product.

Does milk have gluten?

If you’re new to a gluten free diet, you might have a lot of questions like this.


But don’t worry, because I’m here to answer these questions and provide you with some helpful advice about how best to approach such products, including milk!

Here’s a brief summary before we take a closer look at milk products and their gluten free status:


Cow’s milk in its natural form does not contain gluten; however, some cows milk based products have gluten ingredients added to them during manufacturing which make some of them unsuitable for a gluten free diet.

What dairy products are gluten free?
What dairy products are gluten free?

For an idea of which milk products might contain gluten, you can take a look at the list I created below.


Remember that this list is for your guidance only, and not all products will actually contain gluten in these categories.


The idea of the list is to provide you with a prompt of which products to check before consuming.


Check the ingredients label first, then for any may contain warnings for gluten.

Milk products that may contain gluten & should be checked before consuming

Infant/Baby Milks/Milk Powders

Flavoured Milks (Chocolate/Strawberry etc.)

Milk Powders

Condensed Milk

Evaporated Milk

Coffee Drinks (pre-made, shop bought)

Protein drinks (pre-made, shop bought, milk-based)

Hot Chocolate Powders/Syrups

Ice Cream

Join the Newsletter
+
get a FREE
gluten free factsheet

    No spam here.
    Unsubscribe at anytime.

    What dairy products are gluten free?
    What dairy products are gluten free?

    Does butter have gluten?

    Butter is another product you might get confused about if you’re new to a gluten free diet, because there’s so many types of spreads these days with varying ingredients.


    However, you’ll be pleased to know that most butter’s are ok for a gluten free diet, there’s just a guiding principle you need to be aware of below.

    As a general rule, butter does not contain gluten; however, some butter spreads may have gluten ingredients added to them during manufacturing, making some of them unsuitable for a gluten free diet.

    Vegan and plant-based spreads may have gluten ingredients added to them, in the same way that normal butter spreads might.

    Always check the ingredients label for gluten ingredients and for may contain warnings for gluten too before consuming.

    What dairy products are gluten free?

    Does yoghurt have gluten?

    It might seem confusing to you if you pick up a pack of Greek yogurt or some children’s yogurt pots and there’s no gluten free label.

    You might ask yourself, well, does it contain gluten or not then?

    A lot of naturally gluten free products like yogurt don’t have a gluten free label, but they are in fact gluten free when you check the ingredients label and the allergen statements, and there’s no gluten warning shown.

    The following information is therefore useful to consider when asking yourself if a certain yogurt product is gluten free.

    Yogurt is gluten free in its natural form. The exception to this is yogurt’s which have gluten ingredients added to them such as granola toppings, oats and other similar gluten ingredients.

    What dairy products are gluten free?
    What dairy products are gluten free?

    If you think the above circumstances apply to a product you’re looking to buy, check the ingredients label for highlighted gluten and the allergen statement to see if there’s any may contain warning for gluten written.



    If there is either or these on the product, it’s not gluten free.

    However, if the product has neither of these, it’s considered to be gluten free despite not having an official “gluten free certified” label.

    Join the Newsletter
    +
    GET A FREE
    Gluten Free Fact Sheet

      No spam here.
      Unsubscribe at anytime.

      Does cheese have gluten?

      Cheese is of course part of the dairy group of foods, and in their natural forms, all dairy products are in fact naturally gluten free.


      It’s only when we add ingredients to dairy that the end result product may not actually be gluten free.


      You can see examples in this article above of milk products which you should check for gluten in before consuming, but here, I will provide you with some examples of cheese products which may contain gluten and need to be checked.

      Cheeses in their natural form are gluten free. The exception to this are cheeses which may have had gluten ingredients added to them, such as some spreads, soft cheese and other processed cheeses.

      What dairy products are gluten free?
      What dairy products are gluten free?

      Cheese products which may contain gluten and should be checked before consuming:

      Soft Cheese spreads, particularly flavoured spreads.

      Processed cheeses such as cheese strings, cheese triangles etc.

      Cheese flavoured foods, such as crisps, breadsticks etc., unless labelled gluten free.

      Flavoured Cheese blocks.

      Gemma Hartshorn

      Gemma is a mum to twins with non-coeliac gluten sensitivity and has been living a gut-health focused life for many years herself. She has 5 years adult nursing experience in the UK and achieved a distinction in her Diploma of Higher Education in Healthcare from Oxford Brookes University. She is currently completing a BSc in Health Science and has a keen interest and knowledge of all things gut health. Listen to her Gut Be Good podcast or join her on the Gut Be Good youtube channel for more insights, sharing and helpful information on all things gut health related alongside her website here. Contact Details: glutenfreeshopeasy@gmail.com Unit 80366, PO Box 6945, London, W1A 6US

      Leave a Reply

      Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

      Recent Posts